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Homepage > Blog > 80 SMM Terms That Every Marketer Should Know. Part 2

80 SMM Terms That Every Marketer Should Know. Part 2

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80 SMM Terms That Every Marketer Should Know. Part 2

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When promoting a brand on social networks, you may encounter a large number of terms and abbreviations, which are very easy to get lost in. In order for you to understand SMM at a glance and correctly assess the effectiveness of advertising, we have prepared a dictionary of the basic concepts of the “SMM language”. Read, understand, and increase the impact of promotion on social networks. Right now!

 

Performance metrics

AGR (Audience Growth Rate) — the rate of growth of the number of subscribers of the community.

How to determine:

AGR = number of new subscribers during the reporting period / total number of community subscribers * 100 %.

For example, the number of new subscribers per month — 20 people. The total number of followers is 250. AGR = 20 /250 * 100 % = 8 %.

BER (Brand Evangelists Rate) — the share of brand advocates, i.e. the number of users who periodically and voluntarily speak positively about the brand, from the total number of followers.

How to determine:

BER = number of brand advocates / total number of community followers * 100 %.

For example, if there are 150 brand advocates and the total number of subscribers is 3,000, then the BER score is = 150 / 3000 * 100 % = 5 %.

CAC (Cost of Customer Acquisition) — the cost of attracting one client, taking into account all marketing costs within the advertising campaign. For example: the cost of a commercial, the salary of marketers and employees who gave advice to the users.

How to determine:

CAC = amount of marketing and advertising costs / number of customers.

For example, the sum of all costs — $20,000. The number of attracted customers — 20. CAC = 20,000 / 20 = 1,000.

CPA (Cost Per Action) — a model of payment for advertising, when the number of clicks is not estimated, but a specific result. For example, the number of leads, orders, views or app downloads.

How to Determine

CPA = cost of advertising campaign / number of targeted actions.

CPC (Cost Per Click) — cost per click in the payment method “for visits”. CPC is deducted from the advertising budget every time the user clicks on the link.

How to Determine:

For example, CPC = $7, the advertisement led to 100 visits. 7 * 100 = $700 — the amount that will be deducted from the account of the advertising page.

CPF

CPF (Cost Per Follower) — the cost of one subscriber, i.e. the amount you pay for each user involved in the group on social networks.

How to Determine:

CPF = cost of advertising campaign / number of subscribers.

For example, the budget of an advertising company — $2000 rubles, the growth — 100 subscribers. CPF = 2000 / 100 = $20 per subscriber.

CPI (Cost Per Install) — the cost of installing the application.

How to Determine:

CPI = cost of advertising campaign / number of installed applications.

For example, the budget of an advertising company — $1000, the number of installed applications — 20. CPI = 1000 / 20 = $20 for one installed application.

CPL (Cost Per Lead) — the cost of each lead.

How to Determine:

CPL = cost of advertising campaign / number of leads.

For example, the budget of an advertising campaign is $5000, the number of leads is 50. CPL = 5000 / 50 = $100 for a single lead.

CPM (Cost Per Mille) — price per 1000 displays of an ad.

How to Determine:

The cost of the advertisement / number of displays x 1000.

For example, during the week, the advertisement was shown 8000 times, spent — $2000. CPM = 2000 / 8000 * 1000 = $250 — the price for 1000 displays of an advertising banner for week.

CPO (Cost Per Order) — cost of the order.

How to Determine:

CPO = cost of advertising campaign / number of orders.

For example, the budget of the advertising company — $7000, the number of orders — 20. CPO = 7000 / 20 = $350 — cost of one order.

CTR (Click-Through Rate) — an indicator of the clickability of an advertisement. Estimates how many users viewed an ad and clicked on it. CTR for different ad formats varies, so it is better to compare data of similar campaigns. If the percentage of clicks is low, analyze what is wrong in the settings of the advertising campaign, and fix the situation.

How to Determine:

CTR = clicks / displays x 100. It is measured in percentages.

For example, the ad was viewed 2000 times, the number of clicks — 30. CTR = 30 / 2000 * 100 = 1,5 %.

eCPC

eCPC (Effective Cost Per Click) — effective cost per click. Shows the average cost of the visit.

How to Determine:

eCPC = amount of money spent on the ad / number of clicks. For example, $500 were spent to display an advertisement, and 45 clicks were received. eCPC = 500 / 45 = $11.11.

ER (Engagement Rate) — engagement rate of publication. Shows how the audience reacts to the content.

How to Determine:

There are several calculation formulas. The most popular formula shows the amount of reactions per 100 subscribers: ER = (likes + reposts +comments) / number of subscribers * 100 %. This value may vary for each target audience.

For example, the account with 3000 subscribers post scored: 50 likes, 10 reposts and 15 comments. ER = (50 + 10 + 15) / 3000 * 100 %= 2.5 %. That is, on average, there are 2.5 reactions per 100 subscribers.

OL (Organic Likes) — natural audience growth. These are the people who found your community on social networks and subscribed to it.

How to Determine:

This indicator is calculated by the social network. You can see it, for example, in Facebook under “Statistics” > “Subscribers” > “Organic increase in subscribers” > “Organic subscribers”.

ROI (Return on Investments) — the rate of return. It is measured in percentages. The greater the ROI is, the higher is the payback. ROI determines the amount of increased profit that you have as a result of the advertising campaign.

How to Determine:

ROI = (income-cost) / investment amount * 100 %.

For example, an advertising campaign brought in an income of $50,000, the cost of goods — $8000 rubles, investments (targeted advertising) — $5000. ROI = (50,000–8000) / 5000 * 100 % = 840 % the return on marketing investments.

Time On Site by SM — time spent on the site by users who came from social networks. By tracking this figure, you can understand:

  • How targeted the community audience is;
  • How the content in the community matches the content on the site;
  • How interesting the content on the site is.

How to Determine:

You can see all traffic to the site from social networks in the statistics. For example, in Google Analytics, this data can be found in Traffic Sources > Social networks.

Unlikes Rate

Unlikes Rate — percentage of users ‘ unsubscriptions from the community.

How to Determine:

This indicator is measured by the social network. For example, on Facebook, you can see it in Statistics > Followers > Organic subscriber growth > Unsubscribes.

Conversion — the ratio of the number of visitors to the number of those who performed targeted actions. It is measured in percentages.

How to Determine:

Conversion = number of targeted actions / number of visitors.

For example, as a result of targeted advertising, 1000 people went to the site. Number of orders (target actions) — 20. The conversion = 20 / 1000 * 100 % = 2%

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